"Judge A" Stories

At the February 17, 2010 member meeting, Justice Patricia Timmons-Goodson presented a talk about Judge Elreta Alexander. To read a copy of the speech, click here. Justice Timmons-Goodson would like to add to her collection of “Judge A” stories. If you have a story to share with her, please send it to her at Post Office Box 1841, Raleigh, NC 27602.

Pro Bono Service

Pro Bono Services

The Herb Falk Society was organized to recognize members who have performed 75 or more Pro Bono Service hours in one calendar year. GBA members should keep track of pro bono hours to report at the end of the year. Members will be recognized the following spring for hours worked in the previous calendar year. Hours should be reported using the Herb Falk Society Instructions/Report Form 2017The deadline for reporting pro bono work done in calendar 2017 is January 31, 2018.

Completed forms should be sent via email to JD18GBA@greensborobar.org or mailed to the GBA office: P.O. Box 1825, Greensboro, NC  27402

Brooks Brothers Discount

Enroll online at Membership.BrooksBrothers.com (do not type in http:// or www. in front of the web site address). Enter your Organization ID# 10738 and your Pin Code# 32468.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR for Wednesday May 23, 2012
Brooks Brothers Corporate Shopping Event!
Wednesday, May 23, 2012 – One-Day Only! 30% savings
(regular price merchandise only) at Brooks Brothers U.S. and Canadian stores or online at BrooksBrothers.com

To renew an existing corporate membership card, use the following link: www.brooksbrothers.com/cis/corprenewal.tem

For more details, consult the Enrollment Letter .


GBA Sponsored Awards

Centennial Award

Co-sponsored by the North Carolina Bar Association to recognize outstanding and exemplary community service.

Past Recipients:

1999 – Carole W. Bruce and Robert O. Klepfer, Jr.

2000 –  Judge Patrice A. Hinnant & A. Frank Johns

2001 –  Wanda Bracks Daughtry & Richard L. Wharton

2002 –  Charles P. Younce

2003 –  William Owen Cooke Jr.

2004 –  Reid L. Phillips

2007 –  Edward C. Winslow III

2008 –  Charles T. Hagan III

2009 –  Alan W. Duncan & Henry H. Isaacson

2010 –  Harriet T. Smalls

2011 –  Robert C. Cone

2012 –  Vance Barron

2013 –  Eloise McCain Hassell

2014 –  Marc L. Isaacson

2015 –  Ronald P. Johnson

2016 – John M. Cross, Jr.

Pro Bono Award

The Pro Bono Award recognizes outstanding service and was established in 1996. Past Recipients:

1996 –  H. Davis North, III

1999 –  Herbert S. Falk, Jr

2000 –  Smith Helms Mullis & Moore, L.L.P. – Greensboro Office

2001 –  Larry I. Moore, III

2002 –  Norman B. Smith, Stephen P. Millikin

2003 –  Eugene W. Purdom

2004 –  Ronald P. Johnson

2005 –  Allison M. Grimm & Polly D. Sizemore

2007 –  J. Donald Cowan, Jr. – Greensboro Office of Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard

2008 –  GBA 4ALL Volunteers

2009 –  All Elon Law School Student Volunteers for the Greensboro Legal Aid Office’s 2009 Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program

2010 –  Stephen E. Black

2012 –  Gregory T. Higgins

2013 –  Enyonam Williams

2014 –  Nicole A. Crawford, Alexander Elkan, Kimbery A. Marston, S. Kyle Woosley (Mary’s House Legal Team)

2015 –  The Clifford Division of Clifford Clendenin & O’Hale, LLP

2016 – Amanda C. Feder

Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1993 and is the highest honor bestowed on a member.  Previous recipients:

1993 –  Elreta M. Alexander Ralston & Beverly C. Moore

1995 –  Charles T. Hagan, Jr.

1996 –  Richard D. Douglas, Jr.

1997 –  L. Richardson Preyer

1998 –  Judge Rufus Reynolds

1999 –  W. Owen Cooke

2000 –  L. P. McLendon & McNeill Smith

2001 –  Horace R. Kornegay & James B. Wolfe, Jr.

2002 –  Herbert S. Falk, Jr.

2003 –  Margaret A. Harris

2004 –  William L. Osteen Sr.

2005 –  A. L. (Gus) Meyland & Braxton Schell

2006 –  Stephen P. Millikin

2008 –  James G. Exum, Jr. & Henry E. Frye

2009 –  G. Stevenson Crihfield

2010 –  Richmond G. Bernhardt, Jr. & Doris R. Bray

2011 –  W. Douglas Albright

2012 –  Janet Ward Black

2013 –  Carol W. Bruce

2014 –  James T. Williams, Jr.

2015 – Locke T. Clifford

2016 – Frederick G. Lind

2017 – Robert H. Edmunds, Jr. & Patrice A. Hinnant

Technology & Website for Law Practice Management

“30 Tips in 30 Minutes:  Technology and Law Practice Management Websites Designed to Help Lawyers Better Serve Their Clients” was presented in a colloquium on October 5, 2010.  A copy of the take-away can be found in the About Us tab above under Law Practice Management Colloquium.

Law Practice Management Colloquium Series

On March 30, a program entitled “Practicing Law with a Virtual Office” was presented by Stephanie Kimbro of the Wilmington, NC bar. She provided an introduction to virtual law practice, structures of virtual law practice, ethical issues and best practices. To review her presentaion, please view here Kimbro’s Slides.

Erik Mazzone and Afi Johnson-Parris presented the first program as part of a series of law practice management colloquia on October 5, 2010.   “30 Tips in 30 Minutes:  Technology and Law Practice Management Websites”  was received with good reviews and is presented here as 30 Tips Handout to aid other attorneys who were not able to attend the presentation.

Greensboro Bar Association Blog

Check out the GBA blog:  greensborolaw.blogspot.com.  Send any news or other posts to ryanluft@gmail.com

Photos from the Habitat Dedication are now available for viewing on the blog.  Check it out: http://greensborolaw.blogspot.com/2010/10/now-on-greensboro-law-blog-photos.html.

Foundation Grant History

Since 2003, the Greensboro Bar Association Foundation has been allocating 5% of assets as grants to organizations who apply and meet the grant criteria.   View Foundation Grant History here.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of five officers–President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer–who serve one-year terms plus nine directors who serve three-year staggered terms with three new directors being elected each year.  The duties and responsibilities for each position can be found in the Job descriptions page.  Each member of the board is required to adhere to the Conflict of Interest policy.

Contact information–phone numbers, email addresses, and fax numbers–can be found at the “Contact Us” tab above.

Advertising Contract

     Advertisers have the option of signing an annual contract to run their advertisement in each of the nine monthly issues during the fiscal year.  The Advertising Contract is available for both annual contracts or for month-to-month contracts. Also view the Advertising Options for the sizes and orientations on the page and their associated costs.