JD 18 Special Meeting Held

Notice was sent to all members of the 18th Judicial District and 18-H Judicial District regarding a special joint meeting for the election of nominees for the office of District Court Judge pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. and the bylaws of the 18th Judicial District Bar and the 18-H Judicial District Bar. The meeting was conducted on Wednesday, January 15, 2014, at 4:00 PM in the Commissioners’ Meeting Room (the Old Superior Court Room) of the Guilford County Courthouse at 301 West Market Street in Greensboro, NC, to select five nominees for one seat for a District Court Judge. The Minutes of the meeting are posted.

Resumes of the five candidates that will be submitted to the governor are below:

Bill Davis

Joseph D. Floyd, II

Randle L. Jones

Jonathan G. Kreider

David E. Sherrill

December 2013

December 2013 issue of GBA Newsletter here.

JD 18 Special Meeting

A special joint meeting of JD18 and JD18H has been called for Wednesday, January 15, 2013 beginning at 4:00 PM in the Commissioners’ Meeting Room on the second floor of the Old Guilford County Courthouse, 301 West Market Street, Greensboro, NC. The Special Joint Meeting Announcement contains information regarding candidates/applicants, speeches by candidates, candidate information, voting, and results of the election.

For members of JD18, the by-laws need to be changed to conform to N. C Gen. Statute; details are contained in 2013 Notice of Meeting to Amend Bylaws.

November 2013

November 2013

2012 Herb Falk Society Members

Congratulations to the members of the 2012 Herb Falk Society: John Buford, Locke Clifford, Richard Gabriel, Holt Gwyn, Eloise Hassell, Afi Johnson-Parris, Carrie Johnston, Dan Koenig, Jennifer Koenig, Phillip Long, Eric Richardson, and Jim Slaughter.

On May 22, we recognized the 2012 members of the Herb Falk Society with a dinner at the O’Henry Hotel. Justice Robert Edmunds spoke and Justice Henry Frye presented each member with a certificate. Besides the honorees, several members of the judiciary–Chief Justice Sarah Parker, Justice Cheri Beasley, Judge Lindsay Davis, Judge Rick Elmore, Judge Wendy Enochs, Judge Robby Hassell, and Judge Robert Hunter–attended. The 2012 members of the Herb Falk Society each performed more than 75 hours of pro bono service during 2012 with a total of 1305.75 reported.

To become a member of the 2013 Herb Falk Society, a member must document more than 75 hours of pro bono service during the calendar year and report it to the GBA office at the end of the 2013 year. The reporting form will be available through the newsletter at the end of the year.

2013 Distinguished Service Award

At its April 18th Annual Meeting, the Greensboro Bar Association presented the 2013 Distinguished Service Award to Carole W. Bruce. Congratulations for outstanding professional and personal accomplishments! The award was presented by Henry Frye and you can read Frye remarks with this link.

2012 Centennial Award

The North Carolina State Bar Association along with the Greensboro Bar Association chose Vance Barron, Jr. as the 2012 recipient of the Centennial Award for community service. Barden Cooke presented the award to Vance at the February 21, 2013 membership meeting. The full text of his remarks can be found at Barron Recognition.

September 2011 Bylaw Changes

When the 18th Judicial District was split, the by-laws were changed at the Septemer 2011 annual meeting to reflect those changes. Details can be found here: 18th JD Bar changes

18th Judicial District Bar

18th District

Find the by-laws of the District Bar of the 18th Judicial District here:

Attorneys practicing in Greensboro are also members of the 18th Judicial District Bar; membership is mandatory. In September, 2011, the 18th Judicial District was split into two components–one encompassing Greensboro and the other primarily High Point. Attorneys living in areas outside of these two cities were given a choice by the North Carolina State Bar into which judicial district to be placed.

Administration of the 18th Judicial District Bar is located in the office of the Greensboro Bar Association, under the oversight of the North Carolina State Bar–notices and dues assessments are approved by the North Carolina State Bar prior to distribution to members.

The fiscal year runs from June 1st of the current year through May 31 of the following year (and corresponds to the fiscal year of the Greensboro Bar Association). Dues are decided by a vote of the membership at the annual meeting and are assessed on June 1st of each year; a late fee additional is assessed for any dues not paid by August 1. (2016-17 FEES ASSESSED ARE $15 PER MEMBER WITH A $10 LATE FEE.) Greensboro Bar Association members may write one check to cover dues for both organizations.

All notices are sent via email. It is important that the office administrator have a current and correct address; send any changes to JD18administrator. For any other changes, send them to Kelly Beck (kbeck@ncbar.gov) at the State Bar. Always be sure to include a NC State Bar number with any notification.

The annual meeting is held in April and notice will be sent one month prior with the exact date. Officers will be elected and other business may be conducted. To fill any judicial vacancy, the President will conduct a special meeting (held jointly with the 18HP); notice will be sent to all members one month prior, and a member must be present to vote.

18th Judicial District Q & A

The 18th Judicial District Bar has been reorganized and administrative functions will now be handled out of the GBA office. How this affects the Greensboro Bar Association member is addressed in the following Q & A. For further questions, contact the office at 378-0300.